Skip to main content

Faculty Awards (For Academic Year 2020-2021)

Daniel Brat, MD, PhD; Pathology

  • 2020 Elected, Association of American Physicians (AAP)
  • 2020 Elected, Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars
Savio Chan, PhD; Physiology
  • Promoted to Associate Professor

Shi-Yuan Cheng, PhD; Neurology            

  • Elected as a fellow a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in November 2020

Hongxin Dong, PhD; Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Neurology

  • Promoted to Professor

Marco Gallio, PhD; Neurobiology

  • 2021 NIH Landis Award for Outstanding Mentorship, finalist

Thorsten Kahnt, PhD; Neurology

  • Promoted to Associate Professor
  • Selected to join editorial board or the Journal of Neuroscience as Reviewing Editor

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD; Neurobiology

  • Promoted to Associate Professor
  • Named Soretta and Henry Shapiro Research Professor of Molecular Biology, Endowed Chair
  • 2021 Scialog: Advancing BioImaging Award - Research Corporation for Science Advancement, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, and Frederick Gardner Cottrell Foundation
  • 2021 One Mind Robina Riccitiello Rising Star Depression Research Award - One Mind

Nina Kraus, PhD; Communication Sciences and Disorders             

  • Certificate of Appreciation American Music Therapy Association for "Rhythmic Medicine." "Champion for Music Therapy Award," American Music Therapy Assoc, Great Lakes Region.  "Music Has Power" Award, Institute for Music and Neurologic Function

Mitra Lavasani, PhD; Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

  • Innovative Catalyst Grant Award, Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
  • First Place, The Sarah Baskin Outstanding Research Award - Junior Physicians and Scientists
  • Sarah Baskin Outstanding Research Award - Manuscript Competition (Junior Physicians and Scientists category)

Hojoon Lee, PhD; Neurobiology

  • Whitehall Foundation Grant

Marco Martina, PhD; Neuroscience, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

  • Promoted to Professor

Joe Mazzulli, PhD; Neurology

  • Promoted to Associate Professor

Daniella Menichella, MD, PhD; Neurology and Pharmacology

  • Promoted to Associate Professor

Stephen Miller, PhD; Microbiology-Immunology

  • 2021 Technology, Innovation and Development Award from the Society For Biomaterials

Andrew Miri, PhD; Neurobiology

  • Sloan Research Fellowship
  • Catalyst Award, Chicago Biomedical Consortium
  • 2021 Baker Faculty Research Program, Northwestern University
  • 2020 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award

Vijay Mittal, PhD; Psychology

  • Promoted to Professor

Ken Paller, PhD; Psychology

  • Named the James Padilla Chair in Arts & Sciences
  • McKnight Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award, McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience "Does Superior Sleep Physiology Contribute to Superior Memory Function? Implications for Counteracting Forgetting" 

Indira Raman, PhD; Neurobiology

  • Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • NINDS R35 Research Program Award

Tiffany Schmidt PhD; Neurobiology

  • Promoted to Associate Professor
  • Young Investigator Award, Society for Research in Biological Rhythms
  • Pisart Award for Outstanding Achievements in Vision Science, Lighthouse Guild
  • Ver Steeg Faculty Award

Gregory Schwartz, PhD; Ophthalmology

  • Named the Derrick T. Vail Associate Professor of Ophthalmology

Gordon Shepherd, MD, PhD; Neuroscience

  • Promoted to Professor

Richard Silverman, PhD; Chemistry        

  • Inventor of LyricaTM (pregabalin), marketed worldwide by Pfizer for the treatment of epilepsy, neuropathic pain, Fibromyalgia, and (in Europe) for generalized anxiety disorder 2005-present Inventor of CPP-115, successful completion of Phase 1 clinical trial; currently used as compassionate use drug for child with infantile spasms 2016-2019 Inventor of OV329, licensed to Ovid Therapeutic 2016-present

Marc Slutzky, MD, PhD; Neurology, Neuroscience, PM&R, and Biomedical Engineering

  • Promoted to Professor

Matthew Tate, MD, PhD; Neurological Surgery

  • Promoted to Associate Professor

Catherine Woolley, PhD; Neurobiology

  • Elected to the National Academy of Medicine
  • Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Phyllis Zee, MD, PhD; Neurology

  • Distinguished Scientist Award, Sleep Research Society
  • National Sleep Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award


Note: The faculty awards and promotions are self-reported and therefore are not inclusive of all awards received by NUIN faculty during Academic Year 2020-2021

Follow NUIN on