Skip to main content

Faculty Leadership and Committees


  • Geoff Swanson (Director)
  • Dan Dombeck (Associate Director, Evanston campus)
  • Greg Schwartz (Associate Director, Chicago Campus)

Advisory Board

  • Geoff Swanson (Chair)
  • Ana Maria Acosta
  • Mark Bevan
  • Lisa Beutler
  • Gabriela Caraveo Piso
  • Dan Dombeck
  • Marco Gallio
  • Alicia Guemez Gamboa 
  • Thorsten Kahnt
  • Talia Lerner
  • Joe Mazzulli
  • Dave McLean
  • Puneet Opal
  • Jason Sanchez
  • Greg Schwartz

Admissions Committee

  • Alicia Guemez Gamboa (Chair)
  • Andrew Miri (Vice Chair)
  • Ana Maria Acosta
  • Shana Augustin
  • Anis Contractor
  • Benayahu Elbaz-Eilon
  • Lisa Jonhson
  • Ann Kennedy
  • Hojoon Lee
  • Talia Lerner
  • Puneet Opal
  • Loukia Parisiadou
  • Jones Parker
  • Greg Schwartz
  • Richard Smith
  • Vicki Tysseling
  • Yvette Wong

Curriculum Committee

  • Marco Gallio (Chair)
  • Caterina Gratton
  • CJ Heckman
  • Thorsten Kahnt
  • Hande Ozdinler

NUIN Faculty Advisors

These faculty act as advisors for students at distinct stages of their graduate career. All faculty on these committees serve as a resource for students, and students are welcome to consult with their NUIN faculty advisor at any time should the need arise. 

Committee for Diversity Equity and Inclusion

The charge of this committee is (1) to engage in active recruiting of underrepresented minority prospective graduate students by regularly visiting and building connections with specific institutions; and (2) to participate in advising activities for students who matriculate.

Committee for International Student Affairs

The charge of this committee is to initiate activities with international students that smooth the transition that these students must make to live and work in this country. This committee compliments the International Office in providing support on issues unique to international students and helping/encouraging international students to be active participants in the NUIN program.

  • Yongchao Ma (Chair)
  • Yongling Zhu

Committee for Postdoctoral Affairs

The charge of this committee is to initiate interactions with postdocs and to cultivate among them a sense of belonging to a wider Northwestern neuroscience community.  This committee works with The Graduate School’s Office of Postdoctoral Affairs to direct postdocs to various resources and, as necessary, offer faculty advising independent of the postdoc’s own laboratory.  More information about Postdocs in NUIN can be found here.

  • Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy (Chair)
  • Jason Sanchez
  • Greg Schwartz

Follow NUIN on