Faculty Leadership and Committees


Geoff Swanson (Director)
Dan Dombeck (Associate Director)
Greg Schwartz (Associate Director)

Advisory Board

Geoff Swanson (Chair)
Ana Maria Acosta
Mark Bevan
Christine DiDonato
Dan Dombeck
Marco Gallio
Thorsten Kahnt
Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy
Liming Li

Joe Mazzulli
Dave McLean
Puneet Opal
Indira Raman
Tiffany Schmidt
Greg Schwartz
Alexander Stegh
Joel Voss

Concentration Area Directors 

Indira Raman (Cellular Neurophysiology)
Alexander Stegh (Molecular and Developmental Neuroscience)
Dan Dombeck, Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy (Systems and Cognitive Neuroscience)

Admissions Committee (2020-2021)

Tiffany Schmidt (Chair)
Ana Maria Acosta
Lisa Beutler
Marco Gallio
Alicia Guemez Gamboa
Ann Kennedy
Evangelos Kiskinis
Hojoon Lee

Andrew Miri
Puneet Opal
Loukia Parisiadou
Jones Parker
Jeff Savas
Greg Schwartz
Vicki Tysseling
Yvette Wong

Curriculum Committee

Joel Voss (Chair)
Jim Baker
CJ Heckman

Thorsten Kahnt
Talia Lerner
Hande Ozdinler

NUIN Faculty Advisors

These faculty act as advisors for students at distinct stages of their graduate career. All faculty on these committees serve as a resource for students, and students are welcome to consult with their NUIN faculty advisor at any time should the need arise. The Senior Student Advisors monitor progress towards degree completion and provide guidance should problems arise that are most appropriately handled outside of the laboratory or thesis committee environment.

First Year Advisors
Thorsten Kahnt
Dave McLean
Second Year Advisors
Christine DiDonato
Joe Mazzulli
Senior Student Advisors
Mark Bevan
Liming Li
Indira Raman
MSTP Advisor
Puneet Opal

Committee for Diversity Equity and Inclusion

The charge of this committee is (1) to engage in active recruiting of underrepresented minority prospective graduate students by regularly visiting and building connections with specific institutions; and (2) to participate in advising activities for students who matriculate.

Faculty and Staff Members:
Ana Maria Acosta (Chair)
John Disterhoft
Jena Pitman-Leung
Cassandra VanDunk
Student Members:
Schnaude Dorizan
Bryan McClarty
Miguel Ramirez

Committee for International Student Affairs

The charge of this committee is to initiate activities with international students (either individually, in groups of exclusively international students, or in groups including domestic students) that smooth the transition that these students must make to live and work in this country. This committee compliments the International Office in providing support on issues unique to international students (e.g., dealing with English as a second language, adapting to new academic expectations in the US system, navigating a new country/culture, directing students to resources on visas, OPT year, taxes etc.) and helping/encouraging international students to be active participants in the NUIN program.

Yongchao Ma (Chair)
Yongling Zhu

Committee for Postdoctoral Affairs

The charge of this committee is to initiate interactions with postdocs and to cultivate among them a sense of belonging to a wider Northwestern neuroscience community.  This committee works with The Graduate School’s Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (headed by Jennifer E. Hobbs) to direct postdocs to various resources (e.g. professional development, career planning) and, as necessary, offer faculty advising independent of the postdoc’s own laboratory.  More information about Postdocs in NUIN can be found here.

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy (Chair)
Jason Sanchez
Greg Schwartz